Ahmad Bashah: Umno is my ‘university’ as it educated me

ahmad-bashah_umno_600

PETALING JAYA: Kedah’s newly minted Menteri Besar Ahmad Bashah Md Hanipah said Umno is his “university” as the party had educated and made him a mature person, Berita Harian reported.

In admitting he only had a secondary level education, the Umno Kedah liaison deputy chief nevertheless declared he was experienced when it came to politics and administration and was, therefore, unaffected by criticisms about his qualifications, brushing if off as the only way his detractors knew how to attack him.

“I don’t feel slighted as I know myself. I am not beating my chest and claiming I am so smart that everyone has to listen to me,” he told the Malay daily in an exclusive interview.

When asked if his academic qualifications limited his ability to administer Kedah, Ahmad Bashah argued that his experience, when married with the expertise of civil servants in the state, made for a good combination.

“There is no way I can master everything, nor will they (civil servants) know everything. We will work together to form a strong team for the state and Kedahans.”

When asked if the move to replace his predecessor Mukhriz Mahathir came as a surprise to the Jerlun lawmaker, Ahmad Bashah said he felt the former already had an inkling as to what was going to take place.

The political games played by those around Mukhriz, however, made it seem like a bolt from out of the blue.

Mukhriz, he added, had enough opportunities to mend ties with party leaders at the divisional and grassroots levels.

“That did not happen. Yet we cannot blame Mukhriz entirely. However, the situation prolonged to the point that we had to make a decision as the 14th General Election is inching closer.” – FMT

This entry was posted in UMNO. Bookmark the permalink.