Muhyiddin: I was offered Penang Governor, PNB chairman’s posts

muhyiddin

KOTA TINGGI: Former Deputy Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin today revealed that he was offered a golden handshake after he was sacked as the country’s and Umno’s Number 2.

He said he was offered the posts of Penang Governor and chairman of Permodalan Nasional Berhad (PNB).

“I had even imagined (Penang Chief Minister Lim) Guan Eng in front of me, kneeling and sembah (prostrating) to me.

“Sometimes, I feel quite stupid … Why didn’t I take the offer?

“Some even say I should have taken RM1 billion and then kept quiet,” he said to laughter from more than 1,000 people gathered at the Kampung Sungai Ampat Community Hall here today.

Muhyiddin said he declined the offers as he stood by his principles.

“I declined the offers because this was about my dignity.

“If I’d accepted it, it meant I ‘makan dedak’ (can be bought). People will say Muhyiddin is the No. 1 person who ‘makan dedak’.

“I can’t sacrifice the principles of my struggle.”

Muhyiddin was sacked as deputy prime minister in July last year and suspended as Umno deputy president last month for criticising Prime Minister Najib Razak.

Muhyiddin and former Kedah Menteri Besar Mukhriz Mahathir were among several rebel Umno leaders who signed the Citizens’ Declaration demanding Najib’s resignation. – FMT

This entry was posted in Muhyiddin Yassin. Bookmark the permalink.