Coach: This is my son

Emotional moment: A photo taken from Facebook of Mohd Ridzuan and Jeganathan embracing warmly.

PETALING JAYA: It was a father-and-son moment between R. Jeganathan, who is the coach for Rio Paralympics gold medallist Mohd Ridzuan Mohd Puzi, and his protégé.

Both men could not hold back their tears as they hugged each other during an interview on Astro Arena.

When the reporter asked Jeganathan what he wanted to say to Ridzuan, who had won the T36 100m race, he remarked:

“This is my son. Thank you, thank you. I may push you and shout at you but this is the outcome,” said Jeganathan while embracing a tearful Ridzuan, 29.

Jeganathan also held Ridzuan’s face by the cheeks, saying: “You understand now why I shout at you during training?”

The Astro reporter was also caught in the moment as tears welled up in her eyes before she tried to compose herself.

Earlier in the video that was shared on Facebook by Astro Arena, Jeganathan said Ridzuan had viewed him as a father and would abide by his words.

“He doesn’t question me and just does it. Maybe because he loves me and I treat him like a son, therefore he listens to my every instruction.”

The video by Astro Arena as of 6pm yesterday had nearly 268,000 views. – Star Online

This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.