GE14: Mahathir dares Nazri to stand in Langkawi

mahathir-nazri-1

BANGI: Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (PPBM) chairman Dr Mahathir Mohamad has responded to a challenge from Umno’s Nazri Aziz by asking the latter to take him on in Langkawi in the next general election (GE14).

“I’m telling him to contest me in Langkawi instead. That is, if I contest at all in the next general election,” the former prime minister said at a press conference following a ceramah organised by Amanah here last night.

“He should know better that he serves the whole country, not only his constituency, Padang Rengas. So, why does he want me to go to his place? Come to my place instead,”, Mahathir said.

Yesterday, Nazri, who is tourism and culture minister, had reportedly challenged either Mahathir or PPBM president Muhyiddin Yassin to stand in his constituency of Padang Rengas, Perak in the next polls.

“I understand that Muhyiddin is coming here on March 23, followed by Mahathir on March 25. Their visit symbolises how great I am as a politician because they feel the need to come here to beat me in order to bring down Umno.

“I welcome them but don’t just come for a visit… they should also contest in Padang Rengas in the next election. It would be better if Mahathir were to contest but if he can’t, then let Muhyiddin contest against me,” Nazri was quoted as saying.

Last month, the Kedah-born Mahathir was appointed Langkawi PPBM division chief.

During Mahathir’s tenure as prime minister in 1981, he had placed extensive focus on the development of Langkawi.

He had declared Langkawi as a free port to encourage trading activities and had established the Langkawi Development Authority (Lada) to bring about development in the island. – FMT

This entry was posted in Dr Mahathir Mohamad. Bookmark the permalink.